Passionfruit Angel Food Cake (and first ever giveaway!)

So I still have a lot of catching up to do from all of my summer travels, but in the meantime, I figured I’d do a little post about cake because it’s pretty fantastic. But anyways, have you ever spent hours doing virtually nothing? I have! Whilst waiting in the mornings or afternoons or evenings at my grandparents’ home in Taiwan, my young(er) cousin passed time by playing fruit ninja on her super fancy iPad 2 (and no, sorry. that’s not the giveaway hahaha). Before I left, she asked me, “Do you think about fruit ninja randomly sometimes?” And I said that yes, I did occasionally. To which she responded, “Okay good. Because I do. I think about it a lot. Especially passionfruit. It’s so yummy!”

Now a few days earlier, I had gone with my grandpa to the street market and bought a bag of passionfruit. Upon bringing it home, we scooped out the flesh and my grandpa suggested that we eat it straight up. But what with my grandpa, grandma, aunt, uncle, cousin, and I all in the house, I knew that we’d want to stretch it as far as we could. So my cousin and I ran down to the FamilyMart (think 7/11) and bought a bottle of Taiwanese Sprite. We mixed it up with the passionfruit and everyone loved it.

I wish it was possible to bring back passionfruit, but alas, Customs and Border Security would throw it into their bin of “international waste” (sniffle, sniffle). But! I’ve got the next best thing:

passionfruit/apricot preserves and passionfruit extract (purchased in an international mart in Taiwan)

So. Secret’s out! If I’ve recently made you a passionfruit cake, I did not in fact pluck passionfruit off of my nonexistent lilikoi tree in the back yard. Disappointed? Don’t be! Just leave a comment, any comment below and you will be eligible to win a bottle of passionfruit extract(!), thereby enabling you to also flavor your cakes and cookies with the addicting flavor that is passionfruit.


The passionfruit extract is pretty iridescent as you can see:


…and it smells pretty amazing, if  I do say so myself.

Limit one entry per person and U.S. residents only. We’ll see how many nibbles there are, but for now, I’ma leave this giveaway open until 12:00 AM EST on Friday, August 26 2011.

Want another entry? Like us on Facebook and comment back here saying you did!

Angel Food Cake

(very lightly adapted from here)

1 cup (3 oz) sifted cake flour
1 1/2 cups (10 1/2 oz) granulated sugar
1 3/4 cups + 2 Tbls egg whites (I used the whites from 12 large eggs)
1 tsp cream of tartar
1/4 tsp salt
1 tsp passionfruit extract

1. Adjust an oven rack to the lower-middle position and heat oven to 325 degrees. Have ready an ungreased large tube pan (9-inch diameter 16-cup capacity), preferably with removable bottom.  If the pan bottom is not removable, line it with parchment or wax paper.

2. In a small bowl, whisk the flour with 3/4 cup sugar.  Place remaining 3/4 cup sugar in another small bowl next to the mixer.
3. In the bowl of a standing mixer beat egg whites at low speed until just broken up and beginning to froth.  Add cream of tartar and salt and beat at medium speed until whites form very soft, billowy mounds.  With the mixer still at medium speed, beat in 3/4 cup sugar, 1 tablespoon at a time, until all the sugar is added and whites are shiny and form soft peaks.  Add passionfruit extract and beat until just blended.
4. Place flour-sugar mixture in a sifter set over waxed paper.  Sift flour-sugar mixture over egg whites about 3 tablespoons at a time, and gently fold it in, using a large rubber spatula.
5. Sift any flour-sugar mixture that falls onto the paper back into the bowl with the whites.
6. Gently scrape batter into pan, smooth the top, and give pan a couple of raps on the counter to release any large air bubbles.
7. Bake until the cake is golden brown and the top springs back with pressed firmly, about 1 hour.
8. If cake pan has prongs around the rim for elevating the cake, invert pan onto them.  If not, invert pan over the neck of a bottle or funnel so that air can circulate all around it.  Let the cake cool completely. To unmold, run a knife around edges, being careful not to separate the golden crust from the cake.  Slide cake out of pan and cut the same way around removable bottom to release, or peel off parchment or wax paper, if used.
9.Place the cake, bottom-side up, on a platter.  Cut slices by sawing gently with a serrated knife.

passionfruit angel food cake featured with raspberry whipped cream and passionfruit gelée.

3 responses

  1. Hey Stephanie! Hahah, I hope I win this draw, this looks amazing! And we must must must oovoo sometime SOON, so we can all hear what everyone has been doing since CUSC. Hahah, I’m gonna keep creeping, I mean… keepin up with your blog… soooo… keep posting! lol :]

    August 17, 2011 at 6:08 pm

  2. Oh, and I have made two things from foodgawker… after blueberry picking, i baked blueberry cupcakes for someone’s bday, and blueberry banana buckle cake! :P yum.

    August 17, 2011 at 6:56 pm

  3. Beautiful! I don’t eat a lot of passion fruit. Occasionally I’ll have it in its juice form. This sounds great though!

    August 17, 2011 at 9:12 pm

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.