In the meantime..

I am putting together some recap posts for my entire summer, but I really don’t understand this thing called motivation. Haha. Oh well. Currently working on some light reading- you know: Plato, Aristotle, etc. etc. but I think it can wait for a little. After all, there are things to talk about like these little desserts I made for all of my teachers for a “Happy First Day of School!” gift (and perhaps a bit of pre-gratitude for all of the letters of rec I’ll be needing eheh). So here was my first day of school, one week(ish) ago:


It’s weird being a senior. Everyone before you tells you that the time is going to go fast and though you know it in your heart as a freshman, it doesn’t really hit you until you’re here- in the moment. Honestly, much of this year feels like an extension of last year- we’ve all (basically) settled into our friend groups. We all share some classes together. Lunchtime is spent with the same motley crew. It’s just that there isn’t anyone bigger and now the hallways seem to be swarming with beings that leave us wondering– “Was I ever that small?!”

So the Greek letters for our senior class are Δ X Σ- dedication, Christ, service. It’s really cool how this reflects our lives: Christ (X) is at the center of our lives and because of this, there is a difference (Δ). The sum (Σ) total of this difference is a life of service to those who are older, younger, and less fortunate. I know I’m probably butchering this somehow, but that’s the gist of it. And one more thought while I’m at it:  Δ is kind of where we’re at now as seniors. It’s where the river meets the ocean- for us, where dependence meets self-sufficiency. So anyways, for one final beginning-of-the-year thank you to my teachers, I present:

Chocolate Torte: chocolate cake filled with vanilla bean cream cheese frosting and topped with chocolate buttercream
Lemon-Lime Passionfruit Curd Tart (in a from-scratch graham cracker crust based on this recipe)
Caramel Blondie with Caramel Swirl/Vanilla Bean Ice Cream (recipe to come soon. probably. maybe.)

Oh and as for the giveaway…well. Check out these diagrams first. Then you’ll understand what I mean when I say this.

Expectation: get post submitted to foodgawker, thus bringing more readers (and more entries for giveaway?)
Reality: epic fail. haha. so according to my two person entry random pick, the winner is Lindsey! woop. Look for your package in the mail soon girlie! :)

4 responses

  1. omg, these desserts<3333333 you are amazing. and it IS weird being a senior! :P

    and YAYAYAYAY V(^.^)V I am TOO EXCITED… now I get to make passionfruit angel food cake! wahoo! thanks, Stephanie!

    August 30, 2011 at 9:24 pm

  2. These look soooo amazing! Mouthwatering, even!
    I’m following you blog now, so, please, post everyday, ‘cuz i love the old place at Blogspot xD (Demanding? Me? No….)
    xx!
    ♥♥♥

    September 16, 2011 at 11:39 am

  3. Your desserts look amazing! I don’t have the patience to make pretty desserts – tasty? yes. but defo not pretty!

    April 21, 2012 at 6:15 pm

  4. Pingback: It’s been a while… «

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.