HOBY WLC UCLA 2010: A Photo Essay

What’s HOBY? Though there are so many ways to describe the Hugh O’Brian Youth Leadership program, all seem too shallow. How can you capture the energy of 400+ international 15-17 year olds in a matter of words? I find it impossible. At HOBY, strangers become friends and friends become family in a matter of days. All are united by the common desire for something greater than status quo. Call it cheesy; call it weird- heck, call it a cult if you want. It doesn’t change the fact that, at HOBY, we are family. 

One response

  1. Ashley Farmer

    Not sure who this is, but I was at HOBY WLC 2010 as well! My name is Ashley Farmer and I’m from Texas (Gulf Coast Region) and I was in group E4!
    To say that HOBY changed my life wouldn’t even halfway cover what it means to me, but it did, and I am eternally grateful for the opportunity I had to attend. HOBY is something I want to be part of for the rest of my life, and I hope that we can keep the spirit alive among HOBY alumni forever!

    HOBY Hugs 🙂
    Your sister,
    Ashley!

    October 6, 2010 at 8:12 pm

Leave a Reply

