Strawberry Explosion

Happy Strawberry Month/Season/whatever this is! In honor of the seasonal strawberry boom, I chose to make this Japanese cheesecake. Having not actually baked much of anything (especially involving whipping egg whites), I am happy to say that this was a success! Lately, I’ve seen Japanese cheesecakes all around the blogosphere. There are yummy loaves (look at the crumb! so perfect), cute green tea versions, and swirly patriotic/psychedelic ones. In the end though, I decided to go with the one I first found here a couple years ago. Since I first saw that post, I’ve been meaning to make one, but I’ve just never gotten around to it.

In case you aren’t familiar with this style of cheesecake, it’s lighter than your traditional NY cheesecake and fluffier too, thanks to the whipped egg whites. The way I see it, you get all the fat without the feeling of guilt!  😉


Ingredients!



As you can tell from the top left square, I was having some issues with my melted cream cheese. It was kinda clumpy and frustrating to deal with. Same with the addition of the flour mixture (even though it was sifted). It all worked out though with the addition of the egg yolks.


Yay fluffy egg whites!

Here’s the decorating process. Lightly sweetened whipped cream and sliced strawberries only!

Boom, strawberry explosion.


Japanese Cheesecake
Makes a 9×13″
280g sugar
12 egg whites
12 egg yolks
1/2 tsp cream of tartar
100g butter (approx. 1 stick)
500g cream cheese (approx 2 1/8 bars)
200 ml milk (I used 2%)
120g cake flour
40g cornstarch
1/4 tsp salt

1. Cube the butter and cream cheese. Add to a saucepan with the milk and place over medium heat, stirring constantly until the butter and cream cheese are melted. Allow this to cool before adding in the egg yolks, one at a time. At this point, preheat the oven to 375F or 160C.
2. Sift the cake flour and cornstarch together over the cream cheese mixture in 3 additions, stirring well after each.
3. Add the cream of tartar to the egg whites and whip on medium speed, gradually pouring in the sugar. When the sugar has been added, turn the speed to high and whip until soft peaks form.
4. Gently fold the egg white mixture into the cream cheese mixture until incorporated. (Check for streaks!)
5. Line a 9×13″ springform (or regular) pan with parchment paper and pour the mixture in.
6. Place your water bath* on the bottom rack of the oven and slide your cheesecake on the top rack.
7. Bake for about 1 hour (you may need more or less time depending on your oven) or until golden and set.

Note: Do not immediately remove the cheesecake. Let the cheesecake stand in the oven with the door ajar for about an hour. This will help prevent cracks and such. Also, I made this the night before, and after letting it sit covered and refrigerated overnight, it was easier to handle.

*I boil water for the water bath as the batter is being made so that there is a sufficient amount of steam circulating throughout the oven.

*disclaimer to those who know me in real life: no, I did not eat this cheesecake as it is comprised pretty much solely of dairy products. But everyone who did eat this enjoyed it immensely, and there were no leftovers.

10 responses

  1. Wow! Beautiful cake! I love the way you decorated this cake!

    May 19, 2011 at 7:39 am

    • Thanks! I’ll do a post on strawberry fanning sometime soon 🙂

      May 19, 2011 at 6:55 pm

  2. Very beautiful!

    May 19, 2011 at 9:12 am

  3. Wow, this cheesecake is just stunning!

    May 19, 2011 at 12:47 pm

  4. Pam Grimmett

    Wow, my daughter found you, and said she wants this for her Birthday cake! Looks delicious, worked many years as a professional baker, but never tried the Japanese Cheesecake guess I will have to give it a try!

    May 19, 2011 at 6:28 pm

  5. Pam Grimmett

    I wish it was calculated to american measurments, it never seems to calculate and come out like it should…

    May 19, 2011 at 6:53 pm

    • It is frustrating, isn’t it? I bought a small digital scale for my birthday a couple of years ago for about $15, and I’d say it’s a worthy investment. 🙂

      May 19, 2011 at 8:20 pm

  6. Ashley

    This looks delicious!
    But the recipe does not mention vanilla…how much to add?

    May 19, 2011 at 7:30 pm

    • I didn’t really make a measurement, but I’d say if you’re going to use vanilla extract, go with 2 teaspoons or so. If you choose to use vanilla bean paste, I’d go with about 1.5 teaspoons.

      May 19, 2011 at 8:16 pm

Leave a Reply

